DIY Floral & Strawberry Gauze Blankets

 

IMG_2701.jpg

I love all of the pretty girly gauze blankets that I’ve seen  for sale lately. But, we already have more than we need, so I couldn’t justify spending $20+ on more unnecessary blankets. So, I decided to make some myself! I found a couple of tutorials online, but nothing that was exactly what I was looking for. So I just kind of made it up as I went, and wanted to share in case anybody else wanted to make some, too. Here is how I made them:

paint.jpg
Unpictured: Dryer/iron and [optional] sewing machine

What you’ll need:

  • Gauze fabric (1×1 yd. pieces- $4 each from Jo-Ann fabric)
  • Acrylic paint
  • Textile medium
  • Paint brushes
  • Dryer and/or iron to heat-set the paint
  • Sewing machine to hem the edges (or another method for keeping it from fraying)

*To make my ‘fabric paint’: I mixed about 1 part acrylic paint with 1 part textile medium. I did not measure anything exactly. Then, I mixed in a little bit of water (maybe a tablespoon or less) so it was a more watery consistency, since I wanted it to resemble watercolor. I used this method to mix all of the paint that I used on the blanket.

To make the flower blanket:

DSC_3128.jpg

  1. Mix the main color paint, using the ‘fabric paint’ method described above. (Note: I just laid the gauze straight on my granite countertop. When I was totally done with the blanket, I moved it and used a granite cleaner, and the dried paint came right up. The paint WILL go through the gauze so if you’re working on a surface that will be stained/ruined by paint, lay down parchment paper or another barrier under the gauze and please don’t blame me for any ruined countertops.)

DSC_3130.jpg

2. Paint ‘flowers’ aka blobs. They don’t have to be perfect, nor consistent. I did all of mine close to the same size, but you could even do different sizes if you want.

DSC_3134.jpg

3. Mix white in with the first color paint to make a lighter version of that color. Paint curved lines inside of the flowers. Again, perfection is nothing to worry about here.

DSC_3135.jpg

4. Choose a darker paint in a similar color-scheme as your flower. Create ‘fabric paint’ out of it, then add more curved lines inside of the flower.

DSC_3137.jpg

5. Mix green ‘fabric paint’ and add stems and leaves.

DSC_3139.jpg

6. Add white to your green paint mixture to create a lighter green, then add some highlights to the leaves. I also added some small flower buds to the blanket.

DSC_3141.jpg

7. Last step! Mix a different/darker color green ‘fabric paint’ and add it to the stems and leaves. I am not a painter and I’m not going to pretend like I know what I’m doing here, I just added the darker where I thought it looked good. Also, mix a little bit of yellow ‘fabric paint’ and add some dots to the middle of the flowers.

DSC_3142.jpg

I stretched out and hung the blanket up to dry for 24 hours. Then, I used a sewing machine to hem the edges under, so it didn’t fray. I put it in the dryer on high for 30 minutes, then went over the paint with an iron (and parchment paper in between the blanket and the iron) to heat-set the paint.

And that’s it! I would never hold it up next to the professional ones and expect it to look as good, but I’m really happy with how it turned out for being so much cheaper than buying one.

To make the strawberry blanket, I used basically the same method, but painted strawberries (duh):

DSC_3165.jpg

  1. Paint strawberry shapes using whatever color(s) of red/pink ‘fabric paint’ that you want. I painted some close together and in the same direction so that I could join them with a stem, and others just random and going different ways.
    ***I used the same method of creating ‘fabric paint’ as with the floral blanket, described above.

DSC_3169.jpg

2. Add stems and a few leaves in green ‘fabric paint’.

DSC_3171.jpg

3. Add white to the green paint to create lighter green, and add some highlights to the stems/leaves.

DSC_3174.jpg

4. Mix white ‘fabric paint’ and add white dots as seeds. I tried to put more large dots on one side of each berry, then fade into smaller/no dots on the other side. Again, I’m not a painter, I just looked at pictures of painted strawberries and liked how that looked.

And you’re done! I used the same drying and heat-setting method as the floral blanket, and I’m very happy with both of them!
*** The paint makes these not the softest blankets ever, so if you are looking for something super soft, I would either try a stamping method or buy pre-printed ones.

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Floral & Strawberry Gauze Blankets

Leave a Reply

